Final Thoughts

This semester has been exciting, challenging, and motivating. I have learned a great deal about myself and learned how to maintain a level of success in the online learning environment. Most importantly, I have learned the value of utilizing data to truly shape and direct instruction.

The Data Action Model is a very useful process. I will first state that to really be effective, you must have buy-in from the teacher teams who will be immersed in the process; this may be difficult as the everyday life of the teachers is becoming less flexible. For educators who are willing to attempt the Data Action Model, wholeheartedly, the results can be eye opening. The most revealing aspect of the process is discovering the instructional gaps that exist. If teachers are committed to accept these deficiencies and willing to work to eliminate them, students should in turn yield the benefits.

I enjoyed working with my team this semester. The cooperative and collaborative nature of our meetings made the process enjoyable and easier than I imagined to navigate. The guidance provided by the instructor, Dhatta Kaur, was excellent. I wish her well as she recovers from her hospital stay.

This course required time management and attention to detail. The prerequisites definitely built a foundation to prepare you for the workload that is expected of a student in this course. Mastery of the course objectives can be met with a good work ethic and a desire to internalize the content presented. I wish any student well as they prepare to complete EDTC 615.

Leave a comment